Google Drive has several different access levels when you share files, folders, and Google Docs. 

  • If you create, sync, or upload a file, you're the owner of that item. 
  • There are three levels of access for collaborators: Can view, Can comment (Google documents and presentations only), and Can edit.


Owners 

  • Edit Google documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and drawings (Google Docs only)
  • Invite more editors, commenters, and viewers
  • Delete files, folders, and Google Docs
  • Remove access for any collaborator
  • Transfer ownership to another person
  • Upload and delete file versions (synced or uploaded files only)
  • Add and remove something from a folder


Editors


  • Edit Google documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and drawings (Google Docs only)
  • Invite or remove other collaborators, if the owner has given editors this permission
  • Download or sync something to another device
  • View the list of other collaborators
  • Make a copy of something to save in Google Drive
  • Upload and delete file versions (synced or uploaded files only)
  • Add and remove items from a folder
  • Editors can’t permanently delete a file, folder, or Google Doc.


Viewers


  • View files, folders, and Google Docs
  • Download or sync something to another device
  • Make a copy of something to save in Google Drive
  • Viewers can’t permanently delete a file, folder or Google Doc, nor can they change something’s sharing settings.


Commenters (Google documents and presentations only)


  • Comment on Google documents and presentations
  • View documents and presentations
  • Download or sync the document or presentation to another device
  • Make a copy of a document or presentation to save in Google Drive