What is conversation view?


  1. After you begin using your school Apps mail account, you will notice in your inbox messages a list of contacts and a parenthesis number.

  2. Gmail groups all replies with their original message, to create a single conversation or thread.

  3. All messages related to the original email subject are displayed on one screen, in order, making it easier to understand the context of a message -- or to follow the conversation.


How do I turn off conversation view?


If you turn off conversation view, your Inbox will list each email individually instead of grouping emails into conversations. There are many disadvantages to doing this - for example, it will be difficult to see whether you replied to an email - but some people still prefer it.


  1. Click the Gear on the top right of your mail and choose Settings.

  2. In your General settings, select "Conversation View Off"


  3. What happens when you turn off conversation mode? Your messages are each displayed on their own line. You will not see your own responses in your Inbox as you do in conversations - those will only be found in your Sent Mail.